Sir John Alfred Arnesby Brown R.A.

This weekend I’m posting the first in a series aimed at highlighting a few lesser known artists from the English Landscape tradition who have lived or worked and been inspired by the countryside around East Anglia.

Sir John Alfred Arnesby Brown was born in 1866 near Nottingham and studied his Art there probably a decade before Laura and Harold Knight. I love the fact that before deciding to study art full time he played football as a winger for Notts County F.C. He spent most of his active life between St Ives, Cornwall and Haddiscoe Norfolk. There is a collection of his work at Norwich Castle Gallery that I long to explore soon.

I find his landscapes inspiring and of great quality and if I may be so bold, his grazing cows and horses are far superior to Munnings.

To view a substantial amount of his work go to : http://www.bbc.co.uk/arts/yourpaintings/artists/john-alfred-arnesby-brown

ImageThe Hayfield                                                   1910                                       Kings Lynn Museum

Haddiscoe Church Norwich Castle Museum and Art GalleryHaddiscoe Church                                                    Norwich Castle Museum and Art Gallery

ImageThe Line of the Plough                                1919                                                     Tate Britain

ImageThe Line of the Plough                              1919                     Kirklees Museum and Galleries

About chrisfiltness

I'm a bloke who is just getting older and wishing he'd been an artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sir John Alfred Arnesby Brown R.A.

  1. Jo Dunn says:

    I like these paintings by Mr Brown a lot – thanks for posting them, Chris. His work seems familiar, I wonder if I saw it as a kid in the Walker Art Gallery… I will look out him now.

  2. mari french says:

    An interesting post, and idea for a series. I hadn’t heard of Arnesby Brown before. I do like ‘The line of the Plough’. I’ve just joined a proposed annual exhibition at Wenhaston, Suffolk, celebrating the work and life of another lesser-known artist Harry Becker from that area. His paintings and sketches of farm workers and animals in the rural landscape are worth checking out. Thought you might be interested. Thanks for dropping by my blog and joining my followers!

    • Hi Mari, yes I know of Harry Becker and would like to see that exhibition. East Anglia is certainly a hotbed of artistic talent with many artists not getting the recognition they deserve.
      I was attracted to your work on art finder and was delighted to find you had a wordpress blog too.

Leave a comment